LASO Performance Videos

2021 Virtual Holiday Pops Concert

Thanks for coming to see Los Alamos Symphony Orchestra’s 2021 Virtual Holiday Pops Concert, hosted by our conductor, Tjett Gerdom. The program begins with four pieces from a string quartet consisting of Wendi Dreesen, Mary Frances Dorn, Kathleen Nehr and Max Light. They start with a traditional Spanish Carol, Riu, Riu, Chiu. They continue with Maria Wiegenlied by Max Reger, Followed by Chanukah, Oy Chanukah. They close the first half of the program with You’re a Mean One, Mr Grinch.

The second half of the program comes from the wind section. Bryan Fearey, Paul Lewis, Wendy Keffeler, Adolfo Meana, and Joyce Guzik make up the SaxAtomix saxophone quintet. They will perform many fun holiday tunes: Frosty The Snowman, It’s Beginning to Look Like Christmas, Jingle Bell Rock, Rockin’ Around The Christmas Tree, Santa Baby, Christmas Jazz Medley and close with Let It Go.

We hope this brightens your Holiday Season!


Summer 2021 Virtual Concert

LASO is happy to share another virtual concert of chamber music from our members.  The program opens with the first movement of Mendelssohn's string Quartet in D major performed by Wendi Dreesen, Mary Frances Dorn, Kathleen Neher and Max Light. Next, Nelly Case performs the second movement of Beethoven's Pathetique Sonata. The final work on the program is the fourth movement of Schumann's Piano Quintet performed by Jackie MacFarlane, Alice Mutschlecner, Kathy Gursky, Audrey Krehlik, and Nelly Case.


Spring 2021 Virtual Concert

Although our orchestra has not been able to gather this year to rehearse or perform, several of our members wanted to share a virtual concert of chamber music, “A Little Pandemic Music”. The program will open with two movements from J.S. Bach’s Sonata in E minor for flute and basso continuo (BWV 1034) featuring flautist Heidi Morning. Next comes a little known duo for viola and cello by Ludwig van Beethoven, performed by Nelly Case and Jim Knudson, which the composer himself titled “Duet with Two Eyeglasses Obbligato” (WoO 32). Lastly, Claire Detels will present a selection of 20th century piano works including “Ellis Island,” a work by avant-garde minimalist composer and multi-media artist Meredith Monk, a Prelude (1933) and character piece, “Woven Silver,” by William Grant Still (long known as the “Dean” of African-American composers), and the third movement of Charles Ives’s Concord Sonata, titled “The Alcotts.”